Woodford Union Church Memorial Tablet

Woodford Union Church Memorial Tablet. Photo by Adrian Lee.
Woodford Union Church Memorial Tablet. Photo by Adrian Lee.
Woodford Green United Free Church
4 High Elms
Woodford Green

The Woodford Union Church memorial takes the form of a large marble tablet, which records the names of 37 men of the church who died during the First World War. The tablet is divided into three sections surrounded by an ornately carved marble outer frame. The top of the frame is decorated with a strip of gold acanthus leaves, and the bottom features a wreath in gold.

A dedication to those who gave their lives is featured in the central section and the names of those who died are presented in the panels on either side.

In 1946, the Woodford Union Church merged with the Woodford Congregational Church, whose building on Broomhill Road, Woodford Green, had been irreparably damaged during the Second World War by a flying bomb on 26th June 1944. The new organisation was subsequently renamed Woodford Green United Free Church. The memorial tablet is displayed inside the church to the right of the altar.


The History of the Woodford Green United Free Church by R.L. Galey. (1968)

Find out more...

Find out more about some of the individuals featured on this memorial by selecting from one of the names below.

To view a complete list of every individual commemorated on this memorial, please click on the memorial inscription link above.

Biography available.

Name Regiment Year of death
Albert Ernest Biggs Royal Navy 1915
Alex Gilmour Boardman Royal Air Force 1918
Arthur William Wells Grenadier Guards 1917
Charles Thomas Cracknell Seaforth Highlanders 1916
David Lagdon Essex Regiment 1915
Edward Lagdon Royal Field Artillery 1917
Ernest George Farrow Bedfordshire Regiment 1916
Foster Raine Army Chaplains' Department 1918
Frederick Lawford Beard Gloucestershire Regiment 1917
Geoffrey Owen Thomas Lancashire Fusiliers 1918
George Henry Powell Wiltshire Regiment 1917
George William Pratten Cameron Highlanders 1915
Harold Edwin Goodwin Royal Air Force 1918
Harry Piper North Staffordshire Regiment 1914
Henry Ernest Charles Gilbey King's Royal Rifle Corps 1916
James Maurison Noble Middlesex Regiment 1917
John Edwin Britton Mercantile Marine 1918
John George Watts Royal Field Artillery 1918
John Maurice Legge Sherwood Foresters (Notts and Derby Regiment) 1915
Leonard Bass Royal Garrison Artillery 1916
Leonard Charles Heyward Royal Garrison Artillery 1918
Marcel Gustave Brunnarius Infantry Regiment French Army 1916
Otto Marc Royal Army Service Corps 1918
Reginald James Sheppard Essex Regiment 1916
Richard Lagdon Australian Infantry, A.I.F. 1917
Sidney Charles Heyward Essex Regiment 1915
Stuart Norman Shephard Royal Flying Corps 1918
Thomas Edward Love Royal Naval Volunteer Reserve 1915
Thomas Paine Army Service Corps 1917
Walter Vosper Jakins Royal Flying Corps 1917
Wilfred Edward Grant The Queen's (Royal West Surrey Regiment) 1918
William George Scott Essex Regiment 1916