St Paul's Church Memorial Tablet

St Paul's Church Memorial Tablet. Photo by Patrick O'Mara.
St Paul's Church
Cross Road
Woodford Bridge

A large marble tablet at St. Paul’s Church, Woodford Green, records the names of 45 men of the church who were died during the First World War. The buff coloured marble tablet, in Pre-Raphaelite style, is divided into three sections set within a dark marble frame. The inner border is decorated with ornate carving, gilt, and the names of places where soldiers fought and died. In the central section of the tablet is a figure of St. George carrying a sword in one hand and standard in the other as he stands over a slain dragon. The names of those who died (set out in order of year) are presented in a list on the panels either side of St. George.

Find out more...

Find out more about some of the individuals featured on this memorial by selecting from one of the names below.

To view a complete list of every individual commemorated on this memorial, please click on the memorial inscription link above.

Biography available.

Name Regiment Year of death
A Gregory London Regiment 1916
Alfred Charles Ewens Royal Naval Transport Service 1919
Barnard Aubrey Clapham Essex Regiment 1917
Bertie James Crisp Royal Fusiliers 1918
Charles Alfred Reeves 4th (Queen's Own) Hussars 1914
Charles G Blunt Rifle Brigade 1918
Charles Leonard Harrup Dorsetshire Regiment 1914
Ernest H Herring Royal Field Artillery 1917
Francis Charles John Grayston Queen's Own (Royal West Kent Regiment) 1918
Frank Diamond Norfolk Regiment 1917
Frederick Ernest Poole Manchester Regiment 1914
Frederick William Barton Tank Corps 1918
George Hamilton Cameron Jackman Duke of Cornwall's Light Infantry 1916
Harold Henry Shuttle Bedfordshire Regiment 1914
Harry Mark Brown Essex Regiment 1917
James Gordon Menhinick Royal Naval Volunteer Reserve 1915
James Simpson Durham Light Infantry 1918
John Arthur Witham Essex Regiment 1917
John James Thurston North Staffordshire Regiment 1918
Joseph Samuel George Underwood Royal Navy 1914
Percy Edward Green Labour Corps 1918
Robert Thomas Foster South Staffordshire Regiment 1914
Ronald Egerton Hedges London Regiment (The Rangers) 1915
Sidney Charles Gregory Suffolk Regiment 1916
Walter James Carter Essex Regiment 1917
William Thompson Machine Gun Corps (Infantry) 1918