St Mary's Church Memorial Tablet

St Mary's Church Memorial Tablet. Photo by Adrian Lee.
St Mary's Church
207 High Street
South Woodford
E18 2PA

A stone tablet at St. Mary’s Church, South Woodford, commemorates the 73 men who worshiped at the church, and died in the First World War. The tablet is mounted outside on the north wall of the church on the Memorial Hall side.

The original church of St. Mary’s was irreparably destroyed in a fire in 1969 but was rebuilt and rededicated in June 1972. This stone tablet would have been salvaged from the old building and mounted on the wall of the new church.

Find out more...

Find out more about some of the individuals featured on this memorial by selecting from one of the names below.

To view a complete list of every individual commemorated on this memorial, please click on the memorial inscription link above.

Biography available.

Name Regiment Year of death
Alexander Joseph Wild Essex Yeomanry 1915
Alfred Henry Palmby Royal Navy 1915
Alfred John Kilpack Carter Middlesex Regiment 1917
Arthur Haddon Lilley London Regiment (London Rifle Brigade) 1917
Arthur Harold Quellhorst London Regiment 1915
Arthur Herbert Thompson London Regiment 1916
Bertram Alexander Edlin Bedfordshire Regiment 1914
Charles George Eastgate Northamptonshire Regiment 1918
Charles Nightingale Essex Regiment 1914
Charles Thomas Cracknell Seaforth Highlanders 1916
Christian Robert Willingale Royal Garrison Artillery 1918
Clement Arthur Powell Royal Navy 1915
Edward Burra Arnison Royal Garrison Artillery 1918
Edward Frank Bellingham Middlesex Regiment 1917
Edward Ray Rashbrooke The Loyal North Lancashire Regiment 1914
Edwin Cyril Challoner Grenadier Guards 1916
Francis Arthur Riggenbach Essex Regiment 1918
Frank Cole Walker Border Regiment 1917
Frederick Charles Fleming Essex Regiment 1917
Frederick George Kipping Australian Infantry, A.I.F. 1915
Frederick George Page Royal Army Service Corps 1918
Frederick John Kimberley Lancashire Fusiliers 1918
Frederick John Nightingale South Wales Borderers 1915
Frederick Reith Campbell Bradford London Regiment (Royal Fusiliers) 1916
Geoffery Boisselier Davies Essex Regiment 1915
Geoffrey Charles Gough Canadian Infantry 1915
George Baker Royal Munster Fusiliers 1915
George Cornelius Brewster Wiltshire Regiment 1915
George Edward Randall London Regiment (London Scottish) 1914
George Pike Shuttle Royal Navy 1917
George William Pratten Cameron Highlanders 1915
Godfrey Thomas Radford King's Own Scottish Borderers 1918
Guy Compton Royal Sussex Regiment 1917
Harold Frederick Lovesy London Regiment (London Rifle Brigade) 1915
Harold Percy Tavener Essex Regiment 1917
Henry Charles Harold Hawksworth Essex Regiment 1918
Herbert Ernest Searle King's Royal Rifle Corps 1917
Herbert Stanley Philips Essex Regiment 1917
Ian Russell Campbell Morris Hertfordshire Yeomanry 1915
James Henry Nightingale King's Royal Rifle Corps 1915
John Charles Richardson London Regiment 1917
John Eyles Osborn Royal Air Force 1918
John Henry Muddiman London Regiment (London Scottish) 1915
Leonard Champ Essex Regiment 1918
Leonard Charles Heyward Royal Garrison Artillery 1918
Leslie Gordon Black Royal Naval Volunteer Reserve 1916
Maurice Herbert Wood Royal Flying Corps 1917
Percy Corby Northamptonshire Regiment 1917
Ralph Askew Godbehear London Regiment 1917
Ralph Ezekiah Kipping Australian Infantry, A.I.F. 1915
Rex Compton Essex Regiment 1917
Richard Heath Lowe Essex Regiment 1917
Robert Russell Walker London Regiment 1918
Ronald William Aspden Royal Fusiliers 1917
Samuel Norman Mosscrop London Regiment (Queen's Westminster Rifles) 1916
Sidney James Forfar Honourable Artillery Company 1917
Stacey Bates King Honourable Artillery Company 1916
Stanley Edes Clark Royal Navy 1918
Thomas Alfred Champ Royal Fusiliers 1916
Thomas Cedric Fawsitt Taylor Canadian Infantry 1916
Thomas Edward Davis Essex Regiment 1917
Thomas Henry Tomblin Essex Regiment 1915
Thomas Hugh Roper London Regiment (London Rifle Brigade) 1917
Walter Henry Nightingale Household Battalion 1917
Walter Middleton Witherick Essex Regiment 1916
William Francis John Prince Royal Air Force 1918
William Frederick Rayner Essex Yeomanry 1915
William George Hammond King's Royal Rifle Corps 1916
William Henry Peppiatt London Regiment (London Rifle Brigade) 1915
William Lynch London Regiment 1915
William Thomas Black Essex Regiment 1917