Ilford Congregational Church Memorial Panels

Ilford Congregational Church Memorial Panels. Photographer Unknown.
Thought to be destroyed

Apart from the main marble memorial which stood in the chancel, a three panelled oak memorial hung on the wall of the lobby of Ilford Congregational Church (later renamed The Vine Congregational Church). The centre panel featured an image of a grieving woman standing over a laurel wreath, either side of which were inscribed the names of seventy two congregants and members of the ‘Ilford Men’s Meeting’ group who lost their lives. The names appear to match those inscribed on the main marble war memorial which was situated in the chancel.

The church closed in 1959 and was subsequently demolished but services continued to be held in the adjoining hall. However, the oak panelled memorial was sadly lost around this time.

A copy of a photo of the memorial in situ is reproduced here but the inscription is difficult to decipher.

Based on research by Patrick O’Mara


Ilford Recorder, 1st Oct 1959

Find out more...

Find out more about some of the individuals featured on this memorial by selecting from one of the names below.

To view a complete list of every individual commemorated on this memorial, please click on the memorial inscription link above.

Biography available.

Name Regiment Year of death
Alfred Balwin Croxford Hampshire Regiment 1915
Alfred Frank Taylor London Regiment (Queen Victoria's Rifles) 1915
Alfred Keppel Baylis Suffolk Regiment 1918
Alfred R Warwick Royal Engineers 1918
Andrew Wanless Mercantile Marine 1917
Arnold C Scott Sherwood Foresters (Notts and Derby Regiment) 1918
Arthur Lacey Cross London Regiment 1915
Arthur T Fallaize London Regiment (London Rifle Brigade) 1915
Arthur Thomas Birkett Duke of Cornwall's Light Infantry 1915
Arthur William Byford Royal Irish Rifles 1917
Cecil H Rowland London Regiment (Queen's Westminster Rifles) 1918
Charles Douglas Young London Regiment 1917
Cyril Frederick E Sumpter Northamptonshire Regiment 1918
Daniel Robert Gardiner London Regiment (Queen's Westminster Rifles) 1917
Douglas Wilfred Gretton London Regiment (Queen Victoria's Rifles) 1916
Edmund George Aedy Devonshire Regiment 1918
Edward Charles Hamshire Essex Regiment 1916
Edward Lowe Northamptonshire Regiment 1917
Ernest Cornelius Herod 11th (Prince Albert's Own) Hussars 1915
F A Buckley Essex Regiment 1918
Frank Cuthbert Broad London Regiment 1918
Gordon Alexander Reid Essex Regiment 1918
Harry Povey King's Royal Rifle Corps 1916
Henry Herbert Wakefield Royal Field Artillery 1917
Henry William Bass Royal Navy 1917
Herbert Charles N Duck London Regiment 1917
Herbert George Sleap Durham Light Infantry 1918
Herbert James Burton London Regiment 1915
Horace Cornthwaite Mason London Regiment (London Scottish) 1917
Horace Edward Gretton London Regiment (Royal Fusiliers) 1917
James Ferrier Macadam Essex Regiment 1918
James Thomas Negus Machine Gun Corps 1918
Jeffrey Victor Harvey Royal Engineers 1918
John Francis Rist London Regiment 1915
John Macadam Essex Regiment 1915
Joseph Sidney Bandy East Surrey Regiment (London Regiment) 1918
Lachlan Mclean Ford London Regiment (London Rifle Brigade) 1916
Leonard George Rowlinson London Regiment (Post Office Rifles) 1918
Leonard Hale Smith Royal Flying Corps 1917
Leslie Mcadam Machine Gun Corps (Infantry) 1918
Reginald Joyce Pendrill Royal Navy 1919
Richard Lloyd Evans Honourable Artillery Company 1917
Richard William Kench London Regiment (Queen's Westminster Rifles) 1916
Robert Thomas Albert Lewthwaite King's Royal Rifle Corps 1918
S D Smith Canadian Engineers 1917
Sidney Harold George Duck Rifle Brigade 1916
Walter F Salmon London Regiment (Kensingtons). 1917
Walter Ray Atterbury London Regiment 1915
Wilfrid Wallace Douglas Donaldson Royal Scots Fusiliers 1917
William Charles Bird Essex Regiment 1916
William Henry Lister Mitchell London Regiment (London Rifle Brigade) 1917
William Jabez Timms Northamptonshire Regiment 1917
William Mentor Palmer London Regiment (First Surrey Rifles) 1919
William Walter John Christmas West Yorkshire Regiment (Prince of Wales's Own) 1915