Christchurch School Memorial Plaque

Christchurch School Memorial Plaque. Photo by Pat O'Mara.
St Margaret Of Antioch Church
7 Perth Road

A memorial at St. Margaret of Antioch Church in Ilford commemorates the former pupils of Christchurch School in Ilford who lost their lives in the First World War. The memorial takes the form of a brass plaque with an arched top and is presented in a wooden frame. The names of the fallen, in black lettering, are listed in five columns. It is unclear whether the memorial was originally located in the school and subsequently moved to the church or whether it has always been at St. Margaret of Antioch Church.

Find out more...

Find out more about some of the individuals featured on this memorial by selecting from one of the names below.

To view a complete list of every individual commemorated on this memorial, please click on the memorial inscription link above.

Biography available.

Name Regiment Year of death
Albert George Swabey Border Regiment 1917
Albert Henry Archer Essex Regiment 1915
Alfred L Cox Royal Field Artillery 1918
Alfred Richard Totts King's Own Yorkshire Light Infantry 1916
Alfred Weary Middlesex Regiment 1917
Archibald John Hayden London Regiment (Prince of Wales' Own Civil Service Rifles) 1916
Arthur Herbert Fisk East Kent Regiment (The Buffs) 1918
Arthur Robert Whatling Royal Naval Volunteer Reserve 1918
Bertram Archibald Cole London Regiment (Royal Fusiliers) 1917
Cecil Henry Winch Australian Infantry, A.I.F. 1915
Charles Frederick Hickmott East Kent Regiment (The Buffs) 1916
Charles Hamilton Newbury Essex Regiment 1917
Charles Robert Stone Essex Regiment 1915
Claud R Stevens Royal Navy 1918
Clement Henry Kray Honourable Artillery Company 1915
Clifford Marcus Claridge London Regiment (Prince of Wales' Own Civil Service Rifles) 1916
Daniel Robert Gardiner London Regiment (Queen's Westminster Rifles) 1917
Edgar Albert Armstrong Royal Naval Volunteer Reserve 1915
Edward John Bland Gloucestershire Regiment 1916
Edward Thomas Chambers Essex Regiment 1915
Ephraim Zolowski Sherwood Foresters (Notts and Derby Regiment) 1918
Ernest Cornelius Herod 11th (Prince Albert's Own) Hussars 1915
Ernest Hayden Essex Regiment 1917
Frank Arthur Cresswell King's Own Scottish Borderers 1917
Frederick F Godley Suffolk Regiment 1917
Frederick Leslie Cuff Link Royal Air Force 1918
Frederick Miller London Regiment (London Irish Rifles) 1915
Frederick Sewell Norfolk Regiment 1917
Frederick William Walker South Wales Borderers 1918
G W Ockenden Norfolk Regiment 1917
Gordon Alexander Reid Essex Regiment 1918
Harold Edward Aldous London Regiment (Artists' Rifles) 1917
Harold Percy Healing Royal Irish Fusiliers 1915
Harold Ross Timpson London Regiment (Post Office Rifles) 1918
Henry Allen Spurgeon Leicestershire Regiment 1918
Henry Chambers Whittingham London Regiment (The Rangers) 1915
Henry Hickmott Gloucestershire Regiment 1916
Herbert Edwin Hawkins Essex Regiment 1916
Herbert Sprenger Middlesex Regiment 1916
Isaac Benson Border Regiment 1917
Ivor Stanley Burgess Essex Regiment 1917
James Battle Jackson Royal Welsh Fusiliers 1917
John Dudley Sharland Royal Fusiliers 1916
Joseph Henry Lowe Machine Gun Corps (Infantry) 1918
Joseph Stephen Ward London Regiment 1916
Leonard Alfred Robert Wheatley London Regiment (Queen's Westminster Rifles) 1916
Percy Harry Samuel King Seaforth Highlanders 1918
Percy Philpot Armstrong Royal Naval Volunteer Reserve 1916
Richard Lloyd Evans Honourable Artillery Company 1917
Robert Pollard London Regiment (London Rifle Brigade) 1918
Robert Wiltshire Royal Fusiliers 1918
Russell G Willis Essex Regiment 1917
Sidney Herbert Walker Seaforth Highlanders 1915
Stanley Henry Evans Seaforth Highlanders 1917
Sydney Arnold Ashton London Regiment (City of London Rifles) 1916
Thomas F Hunt Middlesex Regiment 1917
Thomas Harry Winyard Auckland Regiment, N.Z.E.F. 1917
Walter Robert Aldous London Regiment (Kensingtons) 1916
Walter William James Cooper Royal Field Artillery 1918
Wilfrid John May West Yorkshire Regiment (Prince of Wales's Own) 1917
William Fraser Lydamore London Regiment (London Rifle Brigade) 1916
William George Marlborough London Regiment (London Rifle Brigade) 1916
William Joseph Dingwall Aggus Essex Regiment 1917
William Richard Walker London Regiment (London Scottish) 1915