All Saints' Church Memorial Screen

All Saints' Church Memorial Screen. Photo by Redbridge Museum.
All Saints' Church Memorial Screen. Photo by Redbridge Museum., All Saints' Church Memorial Screen. Photo by Redbridge Museum.
All Saints Church
Goodmayes Lane

An ornately carved three-panelled oak screen (known as a ‘reredos’) behind the altar of All Saints’ Church, Goodmayes, commemorates 77 men who died in the First World War. A large gilded cross decorates the centre panel, whilst the epitaph and names of the fallen, in black lettering, are presented on the panels on either side.

The unveiling ceremony took place on Saturday 5th June 1920 at 7:30pm and details of the event were publicised in the Ilford Recorder the day before.


Ilford Recorder, 4th June 1920

Find out more...

Find out more about some of the individuals featured on this memorial by selecting from one of the names below.

To view a complete list of every individual commemorated on this memorial, please click on the memorial inscription link above.

Biography available.

Name Regiment Year of death
Albert James Harris Royal Lancaster Regiment 1916
Alex J Mackie Royal Field Artillery 1916
Alfred Bligh Nyasaland Volunteer Reserve 1918
Arnold C Scott Sherwood Foresters (Notts and Derby Regiment) 1918
Arthur John Young South Wales Borderers 1918
Arthur Leslie Cecil London Regiment (Royal Fusiliers) 1915
Arthur Yorke Latreille London Regiment (Queen's Westminster Rifles) 1916
B A Stacey Honourable Artillery Company 1917
Bernard P Baker Royal Engineers 1918
Charles Edward Harwood Mercantile Marine 1917
Charles Sydney Herbert Joyce Royal Engineers 1918
Charles W Gurney London Regiment (London Rifle Brigade) 1917
Charles William Collins Honourable Artillery Company 1917
Clifford William Gill The King's (Liverpool Regiment) 1917
Douglas Wilfred Gretton London Regiment (Queen Victoria's Rifles) 1916
Dudley Siggers Royal Air Force 1918
Duncan McQueen Mercantile Marine 1917
Edgar F D Nicholson 1st Canadian Mounted Rifles Battalion 1916
Edward George Yeomans Royal Fusiliers 1917
Eric J R Britt London Regiment 1918
Ernest George Newill Royal Navy 1916
Ernest J Clews Hampshire Regiment 1916
F A Buckley Essex Regiment 1918
Francis Reginald Abbott Coldstream Guards 1915
Frank Arthur Farmer London Regiment (Queen Victoria's Rifles) 1915
Frederic Reginald Croker Royal Flying Corps 1917
Frederick Smith Oxford and Bucks Light Infantry 1917
Frederick W Corry Gloucestershire Regiment 1918
George Ernest Fieldhouse Cameronians (Scottish Rifles) 1918
George Frederick Arthur Blyth Essex Regiment 1917
George Frederick Austin Cheshire Regiment 1916
George Thomas Chandler London Regiment 1916
Gordon Manesty Whaley Royal Navy 1916
Harold A Eykel London Regiment (Finsbury Rifles) 1917
Harold Armstrong Wadham Royal Naval Volunteer Reserve 1918
Harold Brewster Smith Dorsetshire Regiment 1918
Harry Denton Forbes Mercantile Marine 1917
Herbert Edgar Phipps London Regiment (Queen's Westminster Rifles) 1917
Horace Edward Gretton London Regiment (Royal Fusiliers) 1917
Howard Fleet London Regiment 1918
Isaac Benson Border Regiment 1917
James Reginald Blyth Rifle Brigade 1916
James Stuart Butler Suffolk Regiment 1916
John Cope Murch London Regiment 1915
John Harold F Tweddell Honourable Artillery Company 1918
John William Wilson Honourable Artillery Company 1917
Joseph Howe Border Regiment 1917
Leonard Arley Farmer London Regiment (Queen Victoria's Rifles) 1918
Leonard Frederick John Knox London Regiment 1917
Leonard Simpson Ling Norfolk Regiment 1917
Maurice Gordon Sayers London Regiment 1915
Nelson Standish Bathurst London Regiment (Queen's Westminster Rifles) 1917
Percy L Bowdler Bedfordshire Regiment 1917
Percy Robert Farrow Honourable Artillery Company 1917
Randolph Charles Lemon Royal Naval Reserve 1918
Reginald Millington London Regiment 1916
Stanley Hammond Wadham King's Royal Rifle Corps 1915
Thomas Augustus Paris London Regiment (Cyclists) 1918
William Day London Regiment (London Rifle Brigade) 1917
William Ewart Harrison Honourable Artillery Company 1917
William Harold Hill Seaforth Highlanders 1916
William James Snow Urlwin Royal Garrison Artillery 1918
William Joseph Whyte London Regiment 1917
William Leonard Muir London Regiment (London Irish Rifles) 1917
William Percy Morris King's Royal Rifle Corps 1918
William Phillips Royal Engineers 1919
William Thomas Lewis Essex Regiment 1917