All Saints' Church Memorial Plaque

All Saints' Church Memorial Plaque. Photo by Adrian Lee.
All Saints' Church Memorial Plaque. Photo by Adrian Lee.
All Saints' with St Andrew's Church
Inmans Row
Woodford Wells

A large metal plaque at All Saints' Church, Woodford Wells, commemorates 49 men of the parish who died during the First World War. The memorial is designed in the shape of three arched gothic windows and the names of those who died are presented in relief within each window. The plaque was donated to the church by members of the congregation and is displayed inside the church to the left hand side when facing the altar.

All Saints' Church now works in partnership with St. Andrew’s Church on Chingford Lane and is known as All Saints' with St. Andrew's.

Find out more...

Find out more about some of the individuals featured on this memorial by selecting from one of the names below.

To view a complete list of every individual commemorated on this memorial, please click on the memorial inscription link above.

Biography available.

Name Regiment Year of death
Alan Fayers Mitchell Rifle Brigade 1915
Albert Ernest Biggs Royal Navy 1915
Albert George Victor Tyler Royal Fusiliers 1916
Alexander Porter Duke of Cornwall's Light Infantry 1915
Alfred Frederick Andrews Royal Sussex Regiment 1916
Arthur George Clark Gloucestershire Regiment 1917
Benjamin Dowell Skelton Essex Regiment 1918
Bernard Oldershaw Warner Essex Regiment 1917
Charles Henry Kirkaldy Seaforth Highlanders 1915
Charles James Ernest Jessop Suffolk Regiment 1918
Charles Luer Crowson Suffolk Regiment 1918
Charles Willett King's Royal Rifle Corps 1916
Clement Charles Andrews Royal Sussex Regiment 1916
Clifford Joseph Brooke Hunt Canadian Infantry 1916
Douglas Joseph Geere Royal Field Artillery 1916
Edmund Guy Houghton Middlesex Regiment 1916
Edward Thomas Sutton Essex Regiment 1915
Eric James Marshall London Regiment (London Scottish) 1916
Ernest George Farrow Bedfordshire Regiment 1916
Ernest Wheeler Royal Berkshire Regiment 1915
Evelyn Harper London Regiment (Artists' Rifles) 1917
Francis (Frank) John Miller The Queen's (Royal West Surrey Regiment) 1916
Frank Reynolds Sherwood Foresters (Notts and Derby Regiment) 1916
Frederick Charles Barnes Royal Fusiliers 1917
Frederick Unwin Middlesex Regiment 1916
Geoffrey Yates Gross Queen's Own (Royal West Kent Regiment) 1916
George Edward Read Royal Sussex Regiment 1918
George Thomas Searle Oxford and Bucks Light Infantry 1918
George William Jessop Royal Irish Rifles 1915
Gordon Wood Canadian Infantry 1915
Harold Bateman City of London Yeomanry (Rough Riders) 1915
Harry Piper North Staffordshire Regiment 1914
Henry Ernest Charles Gilbey King's Royal Rifle Corps 1916
Henry Skelton Lancashire Fusiliers 1918
Hubert Thomas James Hatton London Regiment (Queen's Westminster Rifles) 1916
James Edwin Sheridan East Yorkshire Regiment 1915
James Martin Northamptonshire Regiment 1917
John Eve London Regiment 1918
John Sinclair Henwood London Regiment (The Rangers) 1916
Leonard William Castle Essex Regiment 1915
Leopold James Griggs Lincolnshire Regiment 1917
Leslie Richard Hodge Essex Regiment 1917
Leslie Victor Heard London Regiment (Prince of Wales' Own Civil Service Rifles) 1917
Percy Constantine Miles Royal Fusiliers 1917
Robert Frederick Wayman Royal Air Force 1918
Rowan Reid Spence Middlesex Regiment 1917
Sydney Charles Reason Middlesex Regiment 1918
Walter Beresford Hutt Royal Garrison Artillery 1918
William Kellaway Robinson Essex Regiment 1917
William Raymond Fish Royal Air Force 1918
William Woolmore Royal Field Artillery 1914