3rd Epping Forest Scout Group Memorial Plaque

3rd Epping Forest Scout Group Memorial Plaque. Photo by Epping Forest South District Scout Council.
Epping Forest South Scout District HQ
72 Hollybush Hill
E11 1PE

Seven members of the 3rd Epping Forest Boy Scouts are commemorated on a wooden plaque which was formerly displayed at Jubilee Hall, the headquarters of the 3rd Epping Forest South Scout Group in West Grove, Woodford Green.

In 2012, the group was closed and the Jubilee Hall was sold, with proceeds being put towards the construction of a new Scout hall (Rovsco Hall) in Wanstead. The plaque was subsequently moved to Rovsco Hall (Epping Forest South District Scout Headquarters) in 2012 to join the rest of the District's archive.

A carved scout fleur-de-lys decorates the top of the memorial plaque and the names of the seven members who died are carved below. 


Guardian Series Online, 22nd May 2015

Based on information kindly supplied by Paul Plane, Chairman of Epping Forest South District Scout Council

Find out more...

Find out more about some of the individuals featured on this memorial by selecting from one of the names below.

To view a complete list of every individual commemorated on this memorial, please click on the memorial inscription link above.

Biography available.

Name Regiment Year of death
Albert Hendrick Lyth Royal Fusiliers 1916
Francis Charles John Grayston Queen's Own (Royal West Kent Regiment) 1918
Frederick Arthur John Orange London Regiment 1917
Harold Arthur Gordon Mann London Regiment (Queen Victoria's Rifles) 1917
John Arthur Richard Rose Hampshire Regiment 1916
Percy James Mitchell Bedfordshire Regiment 1916
William Edward Mitchell London Regiment (Royal Fusiliers) 1916